top of page

minimal title

2019 AHOF inductee Devon Dobson (21) celebrates a South-West Conference championship with his Green Wave boys' lacrosse teammates in 2007

Incoming New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame inductees gather Nov. 2, 2019 at Fairview Farm Golf Course in Harwinton shortly before the AHOF's annual induction ceremony. In the front row are, from left to right, Danielle Gasser '08, Jack Lavalette '87, Donna Maruszak Roberts '81, Margo Maytham Muttilainen '83, Laurie Center '75, and John Bucinsley '67; back row, Devon Dobson '07, Eric Muttilainen '83, Emma Crowcroft '09, Tom Ferrell '06, and, representing the late Sam Blackman '56, his sons, Jimmy Blackman and Kenneth Blackman. Elizabeth Carter '67 was unable to attend the banquet.

NMHS AHOF selects its Class of 2023 inductees


The New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame has scheduled its next induction banquet for October 21, 2023 at Fairview Farm Golf Club in Harwinton.

The AHOF board will honor six athletes, a coach and, for the first time, a team for its Class of 2023. To read about each of the inductees and see plenty of photos, check their respective pages.

The 2003 and 2004 Green Wave boys' cross country teams, back-to-back champions of the South-West Conference, the state and New England, are in tandem to be the inaugural NMHS teams to earn AHOF induction. Members of those two teams will be feted Oct. 21 as inductees.

Chris Bacich, who co-coached the '03 and '04 teams with Michael Abraham and has since led the Green Wave to the heights many more times, will join the legendary Joseph Wiser, Russell Devin and Fran Zaloski as the AHOF's inducted coaches.

To be honored Oct. 21 as Green Wave athletes are Dick Volinski, Class of 1953, Tom "Tucker" Burke '70, Thea Murray-Martin '77, Vera Pizzarelli '83, Anna Wyhs Benson '02 and Sarah DaRos Keppeler '07. Their induction will bring to 39 the number of NMHS athletes feted in the AHOF.


In all, including the four coaches and the '03 and '04 boys' cross country teams, there will be 44 inductees. Plaques for all past inductees hang proudly on the wall in the NMHS athletic wing, and those for this year's honorees will be added following this fall's banquet.

Starting in the fall of 2017, the AHOF hosted three banquets at Fairview, on each occasion welcoming a dozen inductees. Each of tose 36 inductees, including legendary athletic director/coach Joseph Wiser and coaches Fran Zaloski and Russell Devin, has a page on this website featuring a biography and photos. Pages for this year's inductees are now also here.


Concern for the health and well-being of everyone associated with any banquet will be the AHOF's cautionary guide going forward, and we reserve the right to postpone our next banquet should Covid-19 or a related virus once again become a significant threat.

Tickets are available for inductees and their guests. Once inductees, their families and friends, and AHOF guests, have their tickets, seats would be available to the public.

​For updates, email or check this website.

Athletic Hall of Fame inducts its Class of 2019


2019 inductee Devon Dobson proved a record-setting Green Wave lacrosse force leading up to his 2007 graduation.

A third class of a dozen inductees to the New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame was honored Nov. 2, 2019  at the annual banquet at Fairview Farm Golf Course in Harwinton.

Taking their turns accepting induction were John Bucinsley '67; Laurie Center '75; Donna Maruszak Roberts '81; Eric Muttilainen '83; Margo Maytham Muttilainen '83; Jack Lavalette '87; Tom Ferrell '06; Devon Dobson '07; Danielle Gasser '08; and Emma Crowcroft '09.


Elizabeth Carter '67 was unable to travel to the banquet. She was represented by NMHS teammate and classmate Nancy Bierbower Carlson.

Sam Blackman '56 passed away in May, 2019 at the age of 81 but his sons, Kenneth Blackman and Jimmy Blackman, were on hand to accept their father's induction.

A large crowd was in attendance to support this year's inductees and share in the NMHS AHOF banquet experience.

Bios and photos of the 2019 inductees are posted on their respective pages.


2019 inductee Donna Maruszak Roberts was a volleyball standout and mercurial track & field athlete prior to her 1981 graduation.

Class of 2018 inductees honored at annual banquet

The New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame's second annual induction banquet was held Oct. 27, 2018 before a sellout crowd at Fairview Farm Golf Course in Harwinton.

Honored were the late Alfred "Sonny" Zaloski '47, Bryan Riley '75, Maggie Rinaldi-Chappuis '80, Trey Lavalette '82, John McCafferty '83, Louis Heaton '84, the late John Ndukwu '84, Alexis Thompson Kleinhans '90, Morgan Brady Degan '97,  Jeanna Bradle Freeman '06, Meghan Johnson Lyon '08 and Conor Kirkegard '12.

Banquet photos are available to view, purchase​

2019 banquet photos by Karen Berwick are featured in the gallery section of the website.

Photographs of the 2017 and 2018 New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame banquets are available for viewing and purchase from respective banquet photographers Trish Haldin and Liam Lacey. Please turn to our Gallery pages for the links.


Membership is open for the NMHS Athletic Hall of Fame Club


Signup is underway for the New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame Club. More than 40 members have joined the club.

To sign up and enjoy the club's benefits, see the AHOF Club page or email Membership is also available via PayPal.

The New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame is a non-profit, 501 (c) (3) organization. Donations and other contributions are tax exempt with the IRS.


New Milford High School Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame is a non-profit, 501 (c) (3)  organization “dedicated to honoring those who have contributed with distinction to NMHS inter-scholastic sports as athletes, teams, coaches and in support roles,” according to its mission statement.


 The primary goals for the Hall of Fame are stated in its mission statement:

  1. We seek to preserve the history of athletics as an integral aspect of the educational experience at NMHS.

  2. In doing so, we strive to encourage and inspire contemporary and future NMHS student-athletes to achieve to the best of their ability in the sports realm while maintaining their standing in the classroom and other school activities.

  3. In keeping with interscholastic sports' role in the physical and emotional growth of many teens, we endeavor to maintain the Hall of Fame as a standard by which young student-athletes can establish their goals and judge their progress.

bottom of page